Accessible Websites and Web Apps: Section 508-Techniques for Web Designers and Web Developers (2 Day)

Training Summary
Revised Section 508 is a US federal procurement standard demanding conformance for anyone developing technology to the US government. The standard ensures that electronic and information technology is accessible to federal employees and US citizens. A world-first published in 1998, Section 508 was revised in 2017 to point to W3C’s WCAG 2.0 Level AA. The Revised Section 508 (also known as Section 508 ICT Refresh and 2017 Section 508) is a requirement as of January 2018. The Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) was passed in 1991, before the Internet was ubiquitous, and so does not mention digital accessibility directly. State and municipal government and government-funded organizations fall under Title II, while most US private sector organizations fall under Title III. U.S. judges ruling on ADA litigation typically use WCAG and Revised Section 508 as their guide. Canada and Europe have similar legislation that conveniently point to the same WCAG development techniques. Therefore, this course provides a review of the regulations, and then goes deep on how to develop websites and web-based applications to conform to each standard, and thus comply with every law, for web developers at every level of government as well as in the private sector.
Intermediate to advanced knowledge of your development platforms is required. Familiarity with WCAG requirements is recommended.
2 Days/Lecture & Lab
This course is designed for all government and private sector website and web application designers and developers.
Course Topics
  • Introduction to/review of applicable regulations and WCAG
  • WCAG techniques for web sites and web content
  • WCAG techniques for web applications and forms
  • Testing for and repairing conformance issues

Related Scheduled Courses